International News News

Karlovy Vary International Film Festival announces winners

Bulgarian road-trip comedy The Father bagged the Grand Prix Crystal Globe and a cash prize of $25,000.
Film directors Kristina Grozeva and Petar Valchanov. Credits: KVIFF

The 54th Karlovy Vary International Film Festival concluded July 6 and announced its winners with Bulgarian road-trip comedy The Father, directed by Kristina Grozeva and Petar Valchanov, taking home the top prize Grand Prix Crystal Globe along with a cash prize of $25,000.

The Czech festival’s special jury prize went to German drama Lara, while best director went to Tim Mielants for Belgian feature Patrick. Milan Ondrík won best actor for his role in Czech film Let There Be Light and Corinna Harfouch won the best actress accolade for the aforementioned Lara.

This year’s competition jury comprised Štěpán Hulík, Annemarie Jacir, Sergei Loznitsa, Angeliki Papoulia and Charles Tesson. As previously revealed, there were career Crystal Globes for Julianne Moore and Patricia Clarkson.

Tim Mielants won the Best Director award for the film Patrick (2019). The Best Actress award was given to Corinna Harfouch for her role in the film Lara; the Best Actor award was awarded to Milan Ondrík for his role in the film Let There Be Light which is directed by Marko Skop.

Directed by Jonás Trueba, the film The August Virgin was given a Special Jury mention. Antonia Giesen was credited with a Special Jury mention for her role in the film The Man of the Future directed by Felipe Ríos.

The East of the West Grand Prix $15,000 prize was shared equally by the director and producer of the film The Bull directed by Boris Akopov.

The film My Thought are Silent directed by Antonio Lukich was awarded the East of the West Special Jury Prize of $10,000.

The Grand Prix prize of $5,000 for Best Documentary went to director Ksneia Okhapkina’s film Immortal while documentary film, Confucian Dream, directed by Mijie Li, received the Special Jury prize.

The Právo Audience Award went to Olga Sommerová’s film Tackling Life with Ease.

The Crystal Globe for Outstanding Artistic Contribution to World Cinema was awarded to Julianne Moore and Patricia Clarkson.

The Festival President’s Award for contribution to Czech cinematography was secured by Vladimír Smutný. In the Non-Statutory Awards category, The August Virgin clinched the International Film Critics award given by the International Federation of Film Critics (FIPRESCI).

The Ecumenical Jury Award went to Lara, directed by Jan-Ole Gerster. The Ecumenical Jury Commendation was awarded to Let There Be Light directed by Marko Škop.

The Fedeora Jury Special Mention went to Aga’s House, directed by Lendita Zeqiraj. The Europa Cinemas Label Award for the best European film in the Official Selection – Competition and in the East of the West – Competition went to Scandinavian Silence directed by Martti Helde.