Events News

The IABM Announces Winners of 2012 Peter Wayne Award

The IABM (International Association of Broadcasting Manufacturers) has announced that Timecode Buddy from Timecode Systems Ltd has been selected as the winner for the 2012 IABM Awards for Design and Innovation, earning the prestigious IABM Peter Wayne Award, as well as an IABM Award for Excellence.

The ceremony, which took place on Saturday 8 September, announced that each of the four other finalists — Canon, Civolution, Glensound Electronics, and Sony — have earned an IABM Award for Excellence.

Peter White, director general at IABM, said: “The Timecode Buddy is an elegant solution to a real-world problem experienced daily by users around the world.”

He added: “All five of the winning products demonstrate the creativity and ingenuity with which technology suppliers are meeting the challenges of a rapidly changing industry and every year we remain amazed by the continued level of innovation that we see.”

The IABM awards program is open to all global manufacturers and suppliers, and it recognises products that offer significant solutions or new opportunities to the broadcast supply industry. All judges on the international panel are independent and are not affiliated with a vendor company or similar operation. In addition to selecting five winners of the IABM Award for Excellence, the panel selects from these one overall winner. The top award is named in memory of Peter Wayne, a highly respected industry figure who, through his career and participation in many groups including the IABM, made outstanding contributions to broadcasting.